Home > About > Committees > CBC Fight Against Book Bans Committee
CBC Fight Against Book Bans Committee

CBC Fight Against Book Bans Committee

CBC committee that supports the fight against censorship.

This new CBC committee supports, networks, mentors, and provides resources to anyone interested or involved in the fight against censorship.

READ about CBC’s work since 2020 in the fight against book bans.

2023 Fight Against Book Bans Committee Members

Carmela Iaria, Vice President, School and Library Marketing and Creative Services Director at Penguin Random House

Phoebe Kosman, Director of Marketing, Publicity, and Key Partnerships at Candlewick Press

Michelle Fadlalla Leo, Vice President, Director of Education & Library Marketing at Simon & Schuster

Alexis Lunsford, Director of Sales at Little Bee Books 

Lisa Moraleda, Executive Director of Publicity at Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing

Shanta Newlin, Senior Vice President, Executive Director of Publicity and Corporate Communications at Penguin Young Readers

Andrew Smith, Senior Vice President and Publisher at ABRAMS

Victoria Stapleton, Executive Director, School & Library Marketing at Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Rich Thomas, Publishing Director at HarperCollins Children’s Books

Jena Groshek (CBC Liaison), Marketing Manager, Children’s Book Council

Carl Lennertz (CBC Liaison), Executive Director, Children’s Book Council

Only employees of member publishers are invited to serve on the CBC’s vibrant committees. Are you a CBC member interested in joining a committee? Email Shaina.Birkhead@cbcbooks.org.


  • ALA-CBC Joint Committee

    ALA-CBC Joint Committee

  • CBC Diversity Committee

    CBC Diversity Committee

  • Graphic Novel Committee

    Graphic Novel Committee

  • Sorry, no posts matched your criteria.

  • Early Career Committee

    Early Career Committee

Back to Top