Home > About > Committees > ALA-CBC Joint Committee
ALA-CBC Joint Committee

ALA-CBC Joint Committee

Fostering communication and collaboration between the library and publishing communities.

The ALA-CBC Joint Committee fosters communication and collaboration on mutual opportunities, concerns, and issues regarding the content, format, distribution, and promotion of materials for children and young adults as they relate to both the library and publishing communities.

The committee creates book lists to provide guidance to librarians, parents, caregivers, and others interested in high-quality literature for children.

  • Building a Home Library provides recommendations for assembling a library for children at home
  • Reading Beyond provides books chosen for children who are reading at an advanced level
  • Other resources including our Knowledge Quest column and programming ideas for librarians.

2020 Committee Members

April Roy (Co-Chair) Director of the Plaza Library and Branch Based Programs, Kansas City Public Library

Janet Wong (Co-Chair) Editor and Publisher, Pomelo Books

Amanda Acevedo (CBC Representative) Marketing Manager for School & Library, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

Margaret Coffee (CBC Representative) National Accounts Manager, Sourcebooks

Kelly Depin (ALA Representative) Library Director, Whelden Memorial Library

Beth Eller (CBC Representative) School and Library Marketing Director, Bloomsbury USA

Gillian Engberg (CBC Representative) Partnership Director, Readers to Eaters

Jenna Friebel (ALA Representative) Collection Management Librarian, Oak Park Public Library

Rachel Guthro (ALA Representative)

Susan Kusel (ALA Member) Librarian, Temple Rodef Shalom Library

Emily Heddleson (CBC Representative) Senior Manager, Library & Educational Marketing, Scholastic

Esmeralda Majors (ALA Member) Librarian, Creighton Elementary

Amanda Perez (ALA Member) Library Director, Upper Skagit Library District

Lisa Racine (Committee Associate, ALA Member) Youth Services Librarian, Kitsap Regional Library

John Scott (ALA Member) Lower School Librarian, Friends School of Baltimore

Mary Van Akin (CBC Representative) Director of Publicity, Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group

Rachel Wease (CBC Representative) School and Library Marketing Assistant Manager, Penguin Young Readers

Only employees of member publishers are invited to serve on CBC’s vibrant committees. Are you a CBC member interested in joining a committee? Email Shaina.Birkhead@cbcbooks.org.


  • CBC Diversity Committee

    CBC Diversity Committee

  • CBC Forum Committee

    CBC Forum Committee

  • Graphic Novel Committee

    Graphic Novel Committee

  • Sorry, no posts matched your criteria.

  • Early Career Committee

    Early Career Committee

Back to Top