Be True to Me

Be True to Me

by Adele Griffin

A riveting tale of romantic suspense with a shocking twist ending set within the gates of a Fire Island colony of the super rich.

Jean, a privileged, sometimes cruel, often insecure, and always envious girl, is accustomed to living in her glamorous older sister’s shadow. So when Gil Burke, a handsome newcomer with uncertain ties to one of the most powerful families in the exclusive enclave of Sunken Haven, notices Jean, she is smitten. Then Fritz, a girl from outside the gilded gates who humiliated Jean in the island’s tennis championship last year, falls for Gil herself. Soon the girls are competing for much more than a tennis trophy, with higher stakes than either of them can imagine.

Through the alternating perspectives of Jean and Fritz against a backdrop of sunbathing, lobster bakes, and the Bicentennial summer, Adele Griffin captures the angst of feeling like you don’t belong and the urgency of first love with masterly prose and a sharp, intricate wit perfect for fans of E. Lockhart’s We Were Liars.


Ages: 14-Up
ISBN: 9781616208080
Price: $10.95
Published by: Algonquin Books for Young Readers

More

  • The Smurfs 3-in-1
  • The Memory of Forgotten Things
  • Cuddled and Carried/Consentido y cargado
  • Tradition
  • Dad By My Side
  • Do You Know the Monkey Man?
  • Amal Unbound
  • From Twinkle, with Love
  • Doll-E 1.0
  • Babies Nurse/Así se alimentan los bebés
  • The Night Knights
  • Boying Up: How To Be Brave, Bold, and Brilliant
  • A Place for Fish
  • Love & Other Carnivorous Plants
  • Grandma Gatewood Hikes the Appalachian Trail
  • Llama Llama Loves to Read
  • STEAM Lab for Kids
  • Seven Pablos
  • The Secret Science of Magic
  • Bookish Boyfriends
Back to Top