Home > Readers > Reading Lists > Hot Off the Press > May 2018 > Fatal Throne: The Wives of…
Fatal Throne: The Wives of Henry VIII Tell All

Fatal Throne: The Wives of Henry VIII Tell All

by M. T. Anderson, Candace Fleming, Stephanie Hemphill, Lisa Ann Sandell, Jennifer Donnelly, Linda Sue Park, Deborah Hopkinson

The tragic lives of Henry VIII and his six wives are reimagined by seven acclaimed and bestselling authors in this riveting novel, perfect for fans of Wolf Hall and Netflix’s The Crown.

He was King Henry VIII, a charismatic and extravagant ruler obsessed with both his power as king and with siring a male heir.

They were his queens—six ill-fated women, each bound for divorce, or beheading, or death.

Watch spellbound as each of Henry’s wives attempts to survive their unpredictable king and his power-hungry court. See the sword flash as fiery Anne Boleyn is beheaded for adultery. Follow Jane Seymour as she rises from bullied court maiden to beloved queen, only to die after giving birth. Feel Catherine Howard’s terror as old lovers resurface and whisper vicious rumors to Henry’s influential advisors. Experience the heartache of mothers as they lose son after son, heir after heir.

Told in stirring first-person accounts, Fatal Throne is at once provocative and heartbreaking, an epic tale that is also an intimate look at the royalty of the most perilous times in English history.

Who’s Who:
M. T. Anderson – Henry VIII
Candace Fleming – Katharine of Aragon
Stephanie Hemphill – Anne Boleyn
Lisa Ann Sandell – Jane Seymour
Jennifer Donnelly – Anna of Cleves
Linda Sue Park – Catherine Howard
Deborah Hopkinson – Kateryn Parr


Ages: 12-Up
ISBN: 9781524716196
Price: $18.99
Published by: Random House Children's Books

More

  • The Smurfs 3-in-1
  • The Memory of Forgotten Things
  • Cuddled and Carried/Consentido y cargado
  • Tradition
  • Dad By My Side
  • Do You Know the Monkey Man?
  • Amal Unbound
  • From Twinkle, with Love
  • Doll-E 1.0
  • Babies Nurse/Así se alimentan los bebés
  • The Night Knights
  • Boying Up: How To Be Brave, Bold, and Brilliant
  • A Place for Fish
  • Love & Other Carnivorous Plants
  • Grandma Gatewood Hikes the Appalachian Trail
  • Llama Llama Loves to Read
  • STEAM Lab for Kids
  • Seven Pablos
  • The Secret Science of Magic
  • Bookish Boyfriends
Back to Top