Home > Readers > Reading Lists > Hot Off the Press > February 2018 > A Possibility of Whales
A Possibility of Whales

A Possibility of Whales

by Karen Rivers

The story of a girl who—thanks to her friends, her quirky single dad, and an unexpected encounter with a whale—learns the true meaning of family.

Twelve-year-old Natalia Rose Baleine Gallagher loves possibilities: the possibility that she’ll see whales on the beach near her new home, the possibility that the boy she just met will be her new best friend, the possibility that the paparazzi hounding her famous actor father won’t force them to move again. Most of all, Nat dreams of the possibility that her faraway mother misses her, loves her, and is just waiting for Nat to find her.

But how can Nat find her mother if she doesn’t even know who she is? She abandoned Nat as a baby, and Nat’s dad refuses to talk about it. Nat knows she shouldn’t need a mom, but she still feels like something is missing, and her questions lead her on a journey of self-discovery that will change her life forever.

In her unique, poignant narrative voice, Karen Rivers tells a heartfelt story about family, friendship, and growing up perfect for readers of Katherine Applegate and Rebecca Stead.


Ages: 8-up
ISBN: 9781616207236
Price: $16.95
Published by: Algonquin Books for Young Readers

More

  • 5 Wild Animals
  • A New Home for Fox
  • A Perfect Day
  • Africa, Amazing Africa: Country by Country
  • Animals (Multilingual Board Book)
  • Archibald Finch and the Lost Witches
  • Archie: 80 Years of Christmas
  • Aristotle & Dante Dive Into the Waters of the World
  • Before I Grew Up
  • Benji’s Doll
  • Bluebird
  • Bok’s Giant Leap: One Moon Rock’s Journey Through Time and Space
  • Ivy Lost and Found (Book Buddies Series)
  • Britannica First Big Book of Why
  • Bugs for Breakfast
  • Build It! Christmas
  • Chi Chi the Rescue Dog: Never Give Up
  • Cold War Correspondent: A Korean War Tale (Nathan Hale’s Hazardous Tales #11)
  • Count to Love! (A Bright Brown Baby Board Book)
  • Curious World of Dandy-lion
Back to Top