Home > Readers > Reading Lists > Hot Off the Press > August 2018 > When Elephants Fly
When Elephants Fly

When Elephants Fly

by Nancy Richardson Fischer

One of the most heartwarming young adult novels of the year. Perfect for fans of Water for Elephants, Wonder and All the Bright Places. When Elephants Fly shows that how we choose to live our lives matters and that sometimes taking a risk can be both the hardest and the most wonderful thing of all.

T. Lily Decker is a high school senior with a twelve-year plan: avoid stress, drugs, alcohol and boyfriends, and take regular psych quizzes administered by her best friend, Sawyer, to make sure she’s not developing schizophrenia.

Genetics are not on Lily’s side. When she was seven, her mother, who had paranoid schizophrenia, tried to kill her. And a secret has revealed that Lily’s odds are even worse than she thought. Still, there’s a chance to avoid triggering the mental health condition, if Lily can live a careful life from ages eighteen to thirty, when schizophrenia most commonly manifests.

But when a newspaper internship results in Lily witnessing a mother elephant try to kill her three-week-old calf, Swifty, Lily can’t abandon the story or the calf. With Swifty in danger of dying from grief, Lily must choose whether to risk everything, including her sanity and a first love, on a desperate road trip to save the calf’s life, perhaps finding her own version of freedom along the way.


Ages: 12-Up
ISBN: 9781335012364
Price: $18.99
Published by: Harlequin Teen

More

  • Yo quiero mi sombrero
  • Yesterday’s Rain
  • WWE The New Day: Power of Positivity SC
  • Wrong Fairy Tale Red Riding Hood and the Three Billy Goats Gruff
  • Wow! Underneath The Earth’s Crust
  • Wild is the Witch
  • Who Are You?
  • What’s Coming to Me
  • What Things Come From Nature?
  • U-nique Lou Fox
  • Two Headed Chicken
  • Time for Halloween, Lambie
  • The Willow Pattern Story
  • The Shattered Lens (paperback)
  • The Second in the World to Invent Telephone: Elisha Gray
  • The Honeys
  • The Ghost With The Smelly Old Underwear
  • The Gentle Bulldozer
  • The Dragon’s Promise
  • The Curious Detective: A Zoo of Mistakes
Back to Top