Home > Readers > Reading Lists > Hot Off the Press > August 2018 > When Elephants Fly
When Elephants Fly

When Elephants Fly

by Nancy Richardson Fischer

One of the most heartwarming young adult novels of the year. Perfect for fans of Water for Elephants, Wonder and All the Bright Places. When Elephants Fly shows that how we choose to live our lives matters and that sometimes taking a risk can be both the hardest and the most wonderful thing of all.

T. Lily Decker is a high school senior with a twelve-year plan: avoid stress, drugs, alcohol and boyfriends, and take regular psych quizzes administered by her best friend, Sawyer, to make sure she’s not developing schizophrenia.

Genetics are not on Lily’s side. When she was seven, her mother, who had paranoid schizophrenia, tried to kill her. And a secret has revealed that Lily’s odds are even worse than she thought. Still, there’s a chance to avoid triggering the mental health condition, if Lily can live a careful life from ages eighteen to thirty, when schizophrenia most commonly manifests.

But when a newspaper internship results in Lily witnessing a mother elephant try to kill her three-week-old calf, Swifty, Lily can’t abandon the story or the calf. With Swifty in danger of dying from grief, Lily must choose whether to risk everything, including her sanity and a first love, on a desperate road trip to save the calf’s life, perhaps finding her own version of freedom along the way.


Ages: 12-Up
ISBN: 9781335012364
Price: $18.99
Published by: Harlequin Teen

More

  • 189 Canaries
  • A Queen to the Rescue: the Story of Henrietta Szold, Founder of Hadassah
  • A Rugrats Chanukah: The Classic Illustrated Storybook (Pop Classics #11)
  • A Walk in the Words
  • Ada and the Galaxies
  • Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland in 20 Minutes a Day 
  • All Kinds of Animal Friends
  • All the Feelings Under the Sun: How to Deal with Climate Change
  • Almost Nothing, yet Everything
  • Amara’s Farm
  • Antonia: A Journey to a New Home
  • Archie Celebrates Diwali
  • As Babies Dream
  • At This Very Moment
  • Barefoot Dreams of Petra Luna
  • Barn at Night
  • Bear is a Bear
  • Before We Sleep
  • Bend in the Road
  • Between Two Worlds: The Art & Life of Amrita Sher-Gil
Back to Top