Home > Readers > Reading Lists > Hot Off the Press > March 2018 > If You Come Softly (20th…
If You Come Softly (20th anniversary edition)

If You Come Softly (20th anniversary edition)

by Jacqueline Woodson

A lyrical story of star-crossed love perfect for readers of The Hate U Give, by National Ambassador for Children’s Literature Jacqueline Woodson–now celebrating its twentieth anniversary, and including a new preface by the author / Jeremiah feels good inside his own skin. That is, when he’s in his own Brooklyn neighborhood. But now he’s going to be attending a fancy prep school in Manhattan, and black teenage boys don’t exactly fit in there. So it’s a surprise when he meets Ellie the first week of school. In one frozen moment their eyes lock, and after that they know they fit together–even though she’s Jewish and he’s black. Their worlds are so different, but to them that’s not what matters. Too bad the rest of the world has to get in their way. Jacqueline Woodson’s work has been called “moving and resonant” (Wall Street Journal) and “gorgeous” (Vanity Fair). If You Come Softly is a powerful story of interracial love that leaves readers wondering “why” and “if only . . .”


Ages: 12-up
ISBN: 9780525515487
Price: $17.99
Published by: Penguin Young Readers Group

More

  • Archival Quality
  • Maker Lab: Outdoors
  • Freefall Summer
  • Tulsa Burning
  • Dog Days of History: The Incredible Story of Our Best Friends
  • Lucky Enough
  • Breaking News: Alien Alert
  • 806: A Novel
  • Leaf Litter Critters
  • The Price Guide to the Occult
  • A Round of Robins
  • The Boo-Boos that Changed the World
  • The Great Chicken Escape
  • Baxter and Danny Stand Up to Bullying
  • King & Kayla and the Case of the Lost Tooth
  • Honey
  • Siege: How General Washington Kicked the British Out of Boston and Launched a Revolution
  • Big Brave Bold Sergio
  • The Making of America: Andrew Jackson
  • Just Fly Away
Back to Top