Home > Readers > Reading Lists > Hot Off the Press > April 2018 > Emergency Contact
Emergency Contact

Emergency Contact

by Mary H. K. Choi

From debut author Mary H.K. Choi comes a compulsively readable novel that shows young love in all its awkward glory—perfect for fans of Eleanor & Park and To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before.

For Penny Lee high school was a total nonevent. Her friends were okay, her grades were fine, and while she somehow managed to land a boyfriend, he doesn’t actually know anything about her. When Penny heads to college in Austin, Texas, to learn how to become a writer, it’s seventy-nine miles and a zillion light years away from everything she can’t wait to leave behind.

Sam’s stuck. Literally, figuratively, emotionally, financially. He works at a café and sleeps there too, on a mattress on the floor of an empty storage room upstairs. He knows that this is the god-awful chapter of his life that will serve as inspiration for when he’s a famous movie director but right this second the seventeen bucks in his checking account and his dying laptop are really testing him.

When Sam and Penny cross paths it’s less meet-cute and more a collision of unbearable awkwardness. Still, they swap numbers and stay in touch—via text—and soon become digitally inseparable, sharing their deepest anxieties and secret dreams without the humiliating weirdness of having to see each other.

 


Ages: Teen
ISBN: 9781534408968
Price: $17.99
Published by: Simon and Schuster Children's Publishing

More

  • Zachary Ying and the Dragon Emperor
  • You Make My Heart Go Vroom!
  • You Can’t Please Everyone
  • Wildseed Witch (Book 1)
  • Why, Daddy, Why?
  • Who’s Looking: How Animals See the World
  • Whistling For Angela
  • Where Are You, Little Pig?
  • What Is Climate Change?
  • Wake, Sleepy One: California Poppies and the Super Bloom
  • Uncle John’s City Garden
  • Time For a Bath!
  • This Will Pass
  • This Is Not the Real World
  • The Waiting Place
  • The Sweetest Scoop: Ben & Jerry’s Ice Cream Revolution
  • The Road to After
  • The Race Across Anaconda Swamp
  • The Queen of Kindergarten
  • The Perfect Split
Back to Top