Home > Readers > Reading Lists > Hot Off the Press > April 2019 > Caterpillar Summer
Caterpillar Summer

Caterpillar Summer

by Gillian McDunn

This beautifully written, emotional debut perfect for fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt or Ali Benjamin tells the story a girl, her special needs brother, and the summer they will never forget.

“An engaging, honest book.” –Kimberly Brubaker Bradley, Newbery Honor-winning author of The War That Saved My Life

“A beautiful story of family, forgiveness, life on an island, and growing up.”–Kate Messner, author of Breakout and The Seventh Wish

Cat and her brother Chicken have always had a very special bond–Cat is one of the few people who can keep Chicken happy. When he has a “meltdown” she’s the one who scratches his back and reads his favorite story. She’s the one who knows what Chicken needs. Since their mom has had to work double-hard to keep their family afloat after their father passed away, Cat has been the glue holding her family together.

But even the strongest glue sometimes struggles to hold. When a summer trip doesn’t go according to plan, Cat and Chicken end up spending three weeks with grandparents they never knew. For the first time in years, Cat has the opportunity to be a kid again, and the journey she takes shows that even the most broken or strained relationships can be healed if people take the time to walk in one another’s shoes.


Ages: 8-Up
ISBN: 9781681197432
Price: $16.99
Published by: Bloomsbury Children's Books

More

  • Lily’s Story
  • Welcome to Wanderland
  • The Best of Archie Comics Book 4 Deluxe Edition
  • The Library of Lost Things
  • Through the Animal Kingdom
  • The Good Luck Girls
  • The Little Grey Men
  • Wings
  • My Big Book of the World’s Greatest Art
  • Hello
  • The Infinite Noise
  • Knights Club: The Message of Destiny
  • Day Zero
  • Steven Universe: Harmony
  • Three Lost Seeds: Stories of Becoming
  • Roar, Roar, Growl, Growl Sounds from the Jungle
  • Into the Deep
  • The Acadia Files Book Three: Winter Science
  • Leading the Way: Women in Power
  • Stomp
Back to Top