Home > Blog > CBC Graphic Novel Committee Programming…

CBC Graphic Novel Committee Programming at WonderCon 2024

The CBC has put together 2 great panels held at the Anaheim Convention Center in Anaheim, California. Get the details below and book your tickets today.

Exploring the Worlds of Graphic Novels (Saturday, March 30, 12:30 PM, Room 213AB)

In the early reader and middle-grade world, there are so many graphic novels to dive into and creators themselves are always exploring different trends and genres. From epic heroes to unicorns to cowgirls, these creators discuss their processes in navigating what’s new, what’s popular, and what’s yet to be discovered.


  • Dr. Lesley S. J. Farmer — Professor of Library Media, CSULB Teacher Librarian Program Coordinator


  • Sabrina & Eunice Moyle (Captain Marvel Soars Above (A Marvel Hello Heroes Book)) — Abrams
  • April Showers (Afro Unicorn) — Andrews McMeel Publishing
  • George O’Connor (Asgardians: Odin) — Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group / First Second Books
  • Steve Breen (Sky & Ty 1: Howdy, Partner!) — Pixel+Ink
  • Miranda Harmon (Market Day) — Holiday House 

Keep Bans Off Our Books (Sunday, March 31, 1:00 PM, Room 213CD)

The topic of book banning has risen as more and more books are taken off the shelves, especially graphic novels. These creators are here to talk about graphic novels and literacy, what we can do about censorship in our communities, and most importantly, how to keep bans off our books!


  • Lauren Regenhardt — Mission Viejo Library Senior Librarian, Children’s Services


  • Meggie Ramm (Sink or Swim / BatCat) — Abrams
  • Richard Ashley Hamilton (Scoop) — Mad Cave Studios / Maverick
  • Jasmine Walls (Brooms) – Levine Querido
  • Gabriel Valentin (Digital Lizards of Doom) — Mad Cave Studios / Papercutz

A special thank you to:

  • The WonderCon Programming Team for their guidance and help in organizing the panels.
  • Mysterious Galaxy for their help with our panelists’ book signings and having the books available for purchase onsite.
  • The brilliant book creators, their publishers, and the CBC Graphic Novel Committee members.
  • Our great moderators, Dr. Lesley S. J. Farmer & Lauren Regenhardt, for their collaboration and contribution.

Learn more about the CBC Graphic Novel Committee.

Back to Top