Home > Blog > Bank Street Children’s Book Committee…

Bank Street Children’s Book Committee Announces 2014 Winners

The Josette Frank Award is awarded to a children’s book in which “children or young people deal in a positive and realistic way with difficulties in their world and grow emotionally and morally.” This prize was awarded to Rose Under Fire, by Elizabeth Wein.

The Claudia Lewis Award is given to “the best poetry book of the year for young readers.” This year’s winner is What The Heart Knows by Joyce Sidman and Pamela Zagarenski. 

The Flora Strauss Award is given annually to a nonfiction book that inspires young readers. The 2014 winner is Brave Girl: Clara and the Shirtwaist Makers’ Strike of 1909 by Michelle Markel, illustrated by Melissa Sweet. 

The awards will be celebrated on Thursday, March 6 at Bank St. College.

Read more at Bank Street College ▸▸

Back to Top