Home > Blog > And The Winner Is .…

And The Winner Is . . .

The votes are in and the winners have been announced for the 2012 Children’s Choice Books Awards! The gala took place May 7, 2012 at Espace in Midtown Manhattan. Jarrett Krosoczka hosted this year’s event and Walter Dean Myers, the National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature presented the Impact Award to New York Giant Justin Tuck who co-founded Tuck’s R.U.S.H. for Literacy with his wife Lauren.

Other presenters for the evening included:

  • K – 2 Book of the Year: Marc Brown, creator of the bestselling Arthur Adventure book series and creative producer of the #1 children’s PBS series Arthur
  • 3 – 4 Book of the Year: Mary Pope Osborne, author of the highly acclaimed and internationally beloved Magic Tree House series, which now boasts 47 titles and has sold nearly 100 million copies in North America
  • 5 – 6 Book of the Year: Andrew Clements, bestselling author of Frindle, a modern classic, in addition to dozens of other novels and picture books, including No Talking and Extra Credit.
  • Teen Choice Book of the Year: S.E. Hinton, author of The Outsiders, the best-selling young adult novel of all time, with more than fourteen million copies in print.
  • Author of the Year: Jack Gantos, winner of the 2012 Newbery Medal for Dead End in Norvelt
  • Illustrator of the Year: Chris Raschka, winner of the 2012 Caldecott Medal for A Ball for Daisy

And the winners are:

  • K – 2 Book of the Year: Three Hens and a Peacock by Lester L. Laminack
  • 3 – 4 Book of the Year: Bad Kitty Meets the Baby by Nick Bruel
  • 5 – 6 Book of the Year: Okay for Now by Gary D. Schmidt
  • Teen Book of the Year: Clockwork Prince: The Infernal Devices, Book Two by Cassandra Clare
  • Author of the Year: Jeff Kinney for Diary of A Wimpy Kid 6: Cabin Fever
  • Illustrator of the Year: Brian Selznick for Wonderstruck
Back to Top