Home > ALA Annual 2015

ALA Annual 2015

This year’s ALA Annual Conference will be held in San Francisco. Here’s a look at the lineup of teen-centric programming from the Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA):

Friday, June 26

The Michael L. Printz Program and Reception
8-10PM. Tickets — $34
Jandy Nelson, the 2015 Michael L. Printz winner for I’ll Give You the Sun, will speak about her writing. The honor book authors Jenny Hubbard (And We Stay); Jessie Ann Foley (The Carnival at Bray); Andrew Smith (Grasshopper Jungle); and author Mariko Tamaki, and illustrator Jillian Tamaki (This One Summer) will answer questions in an engaging panel format, followed by a reception. The annual award is administered by YALSA and sponsored by Booklist Publications.

Saturday, June 27

Margaret A. Edwards Brunch
10:30am-12:00pm, Tickets — $39
Sharon M. Draper, the winner of the 2015 Margaret A. Edwards Award, which honors a significant and lasting contribution to writing for teens, will speak about her writing. 

BFYA Teen Feedback Session
1:00 – 2:30 Moscone Convention Center, Esplande 302
Bay Area teens react to the books nominated for this year’s Best Fiction for Young Adults list. 

YALSA Happy Hour
5:30 – 7:00pm, House of Shields (39 New Montgomery Street)
Mingle with the YALSA crowd. The venue is just a short walk from the Convention Center. 

Sunday, June 28

YA Author Coffee Klatch sponsored by BLINK
9-10am, Tickets — $25
Enjoy a light breakfast while authors circulate and visit your table. Participating authors include: M. T. Anderson, Leigh Bardugo, Deborah Biancotti, Selene Castrovilla, Zak Ebrahim, Jack Gantos, Amalie Howard, Jenny Hubbard, Michael Koryta, Stephanie Kuehn, Susan Kuklin, Margo Lanagan, Marissa Meyer, Jandy Nelson, Patrick Ness, Mitali Perkins, John Scalzi, Neal Shusterman, Andrew Smith, Nova Ren Suma, Jillian & Mariko Tamaki, and Scott Westerfeld.

Alex Award Presentation and Program
10:30–11:30 am. Moscone Convention Center, 2002 West
Celebrate the winners of the 2015 Alex Awards: Anthony Doerr, Zak Ebrahim, Kate Racculia, and John Scalzi will speak about their writing. The award recognizes books written for adults with crossover appeal for teens.

Monday, June 29

Odyssey Award Presentation and Program
3:00-5:30pm. Moscone Convention Center, 2014 West
Close out your conference with a celebration of audiobooks. Enjoy clips from the 2015 Odyssey Award winners, and witness narration brilliance in person as Dion Graham, Christopher Myers, Tim Federle, and Jayne Entwistle give brief presentations. A reception sponsored by the APA follows the program.

Back to Top