Vagabonds

Vagabonds

by Darcy Pattison

For decades, the southern states have witnessed the relentless migration of vagabonds from Mexico. They are now found as far north as the Ozarks of southern Missouri. No one knows why they keep traveling north, ever northward. Until now.

 

In the tradition of Charlotte’s Web or The Underneath comes the American fantasy, Vagabonds, the saga of El Garro’s armadillo colony, the scouts and pioneers who have always been at the forefront of the migration. Rumors from their original homeland, the jungles far to the south, indicate that El Garro’s colony may be nearing the fabled Faralone Falls, where they will find the answer to why they have traveled northward for decades. Galen must leave the comfort of his den and lead the search party. Accompanying him are Tex, a representative of the southern clans, Corrie, who is El Garro’s daughter, and Blaze, the barn owl. Galen’s quest for answers plays out against the background of the armadillo colony who has never before challenged their nomadic way of life.

 

Vagabonds is an American fantasy set in the Ozark mountains. Like El Garro’s clan, we are a nation of immigrants, people who have known the sacrifice of leaving everything behind in hopes of finding a future and a hope for their families.

 

 

 


Ages: 9-14
ISBN: 9781629440149
Price: $25.99
Published by: Mims House

More

  • Yossel’s Journey
  • Wowee Zowee: A Flight of Imagination
  • Wonderful Hair: The Beauty of Annie Malone
  • Women in Medicine
  • Women in Engineering
  • Women in Botany
  • Why Humans Build Up: The Rise of Towers, Temples and Skyscrapers
  • When Molly Ate the Stars
  • We Were the Fire: Birmingham 1963
  • We Are the Shapes
  • Viva’s Voice
  • Union
  • Totality: An Eclipse Guide in Rhyme and Science
  • The Very Genius Notebooks: The Chronicles of Deltovia
  • The Twilight Library
  • The Stars Did Wander Darkling
  • The Smallest Snowflake
  • The Sacrifice
  • The Quarter Horse Coloring Book
  • The Power of Architecture: 25 Modern Buildings from Around the World 
Back to Top