Home > Readers > Reading Lists > CBC Showcase > Be Brave, Persist, Survive (Winter 2017) > Streetcar to Justice: How Elizabeth…
Streetcar to Justice: How Elizabeth Jennings Won the Right to Ride in New York

Streetcar to Justice: How Elizabeth Jennings Won the Right to Ride in New York

by Amy Hill Hearth

One hundred years before Rosa Parks’s brave ride in Montgomery, a young African American woman named Elizabeth Jennings Graham took a stand against segregation when she refused to get off a streetcar in New York City. From bestselling author and New York Times reporter Amy Hill Hearth, this fascinating biography about a forgotten Civil Rights activist illuminates a hidden piece of history and will appeal to fans of Phillip Hoose and Steve Sheinkin.


Ages: 8-up
ISBN: 9780062673602
Price: $19.99
Published by: HarperCollins Children's Books

More

  • It Ain’t So Awful, Falafel
  • Me and My Fear
  • Yao Bai and the Egg Pirates
  • My Singing Nana
  • Going Down Home with Daddy
  • Alice from Dream to Dream
  • The Girl Who Saved Yesterday
  • Akissi: Tales of Mischief
  • Whatever Happened to My Sister?
  • The Immortal Jellyfish
  • A Girl in the Himalayas
  • The Lines on Nana’s Face
  • My Grandma and Me
  • A Sparrow’s Roar
  • All Around Us
  • Skyward
  • Hour of the Bees
  • My Dad Used to Be So Cool
  • Saturdays and Teacakes
  • Some Places More Than Others
Back to Top