Home > Readers > Reading Lists > CBC Showcase > Be Brave, Persist, Survive (Winter 2017) > Streetcar to Justice: How Elizabeth…
Streetcar to Justice: How Elizabeth Jennings Won the Right to Ride in New York

Streetcar to Justice: How Elizabeth Jennings Won the Right to Ride in New York

by Amy Hill Hearth

One hundred years before Rosa Parks’s brave ride in Montgomery, a young African American woman named Elizabeth Jennings Graham took a stand against segregation when she refused to get off a streetcar in New York City. From bestselling author and New York Times reporter Amy Hill Hearth, this fascinating biography about a forgotten Civil Rights activist illuminates a hidden piece of history and will appeal to fans of Phillip Hoose and Steve Sheinkin.


Ages: 8-up
ISBN: 9780062673602
Price: $19.99
Published by: HarperCollins Children's Books

More

  • 20 Recipes Kids Should Know
  • A Big Mooncake for Little Star
  • A Moose Boosh: A Few Choice Words About Food
  • A Place at the Table
  • A Spoonful of Faith
  • Amara’s Farm
  • Anyone Can Cook
  • Around the Table that Grandad Built
  • Asteroid Goldberg: Passover in Outer Space
  • Bake Infinite Pie With X + Y
  • Bake, Make and Learn to Cook
  • Beast Feast
  • Boo Stew
  • Born Hungry: Julia Child Becomes “The French Chef”
  • Bread Lab!
  • Brother Giovanni’s Little Reward: How the Pretzel Was Born
  • Bubbe and Bart’s Matzoh Ball Mayhem
  • Burro’s Tortillas
  • Cheesemaker Durdsden
  • Chef Academy
Back to Top