Home > Readers > Reading Lists > CBC Showcase > Be Brave, Persist, Survive (Winter 2017) > Streetcar to Justice: How Elizabeth…
Streetcar to Justice: How Elizabeth Jennings Won the Right to Ride in New York

Streetcar to Justice: How Elizabeth Jennings Won the Right to Ride in New York

by Amy Hill Hearth

One hundred years before Rosa Parks’s brave ride in Montgomery, a young African American woman named Elizabeth Jennings Graham took a stand against segregation when she refused to get off a streetcar in New York City. From bestselling author and New York Times reporter Amy Hill Hearth, this fascinating biography about a forgotten Civil Rights activist illuminates a hidden piece of history and will appeal to fans of Phillip Hoose and Steve Sheinkin.


Ages: 8-up
ISBN: 9780062673602
Price: $19.99
Published by: HarperCollins Children's Books

More

  • Las espinacas de Sylvia
  • ¡Vamos! Let’s Go Eat
  • Charro Claus and the Tejas Kid
  • Las Calabacitas de Zora
  • Juan Verdades
  • Así crezco
  • Juanito Counts to Ten / Johnny cuenta hasta diez
  • El Lórax (The Lorax Spanish Edition)
  • Tigers, Not Daughters
  • Jorge el Curioso
  • Soy un Unicornio
  • Hotel Dare
  • Roller Boy
  • Así se alimentan los bebés / Babies Nurse
  • ¡Vamos! Let’s Go to the Market
  • Birdie’s Beauty Parlor (bilingual)
  • ¡Oh, cúan lejos llegarás! (Oh, the Places You’ll Go! Spanish Edition)
  • Quizás algo hermoso (Maybe Something Beautiful Spanish edition): Cómo el arte transformó un barrio
  • Soy Bailarina de Ballet
  • El Cuento de Don Gato Pez / A CatFish Tale
Back to Top