Home > Readers > Reading Lists > CBC Showcase > Be Brave, Persist, Survive (Winter 2017) > Streetcar to Justice: How Elizabeth…
Streetcar to Justice: How Elizabeth Jennings Won the Right to Ride in New York

Streetcar to Justice: How Elizabeth Jennings Won the Right to Ride in New York

by Amy Hill Hearth

One hundred years before Rosa Parks’s brave ride in Montgomery, a young African American woman named Elizabeth Jennings Graham took a stand against segregation when she refused to get off a streetcar in New York City. From bestselling author and New York Times reporter Amy Hill Hearth, this fascinating biography about a forgotten Civil Rights activist illuminates a hidden piece of history and will appeal to fans of Phillip Hoose and Steve Sheinkin.


Ages: 8-up
ISBN: 9780062673602
Price: $19.99
Published by: HarperCollins Children's Books

More

  • A Danger to Herself and Others
  • A Storm of Strawberries
  • A Time to Dance
  • After The Worst Thing Happens
  • After Zero
  • All the Way to the Top
  • An ABC of Families
  • Are You Seeing Me?
  • Back to Front and Upside Down!
  • Before I Let Go
  • Body Talk: 37 Voices Explore Our Radical Anatomy
  • Born Just Right
  • Braced
  • Can Bears Ski?
  • Cursed
  • Dad, Jackie, and Me
  • Dancing with Katya
  • Disability Visibility (Adapted for Young Adults): 17 First-Person Stories for Today
  • Dorothea’s Eyes: Dorothea Lange Photographs the Truth
  • Emiline: Knight in Training
Back to Top