Home > Readers > Reading Lists > CBC Showcase > Be Brave, Persist, Survive (Winter 2017) > Streetcar to Justice: How Elizabeth…
Streetcar to Justice: How Elizabeth Jennings Won the Right to Ride in New York

Streetcar to Justice: How Elizabeth Jennings Won the Right to Ride in New York

by Amy Hill Hearth

One hundred years before Rosa Parks’s brave ride in Montgomery, a young African American woman named Elizabeth Jennings Graham took a stand against segregation when she refused to get off a streetcar in New York City. From bestselling author and New York Times reporter Amy Hill Hearth, this fascinating biography about a forgotten Civil Rights activist illuminates a hidden piece of history and will appeal to fans of Phillip Hoose and Steve Sheinkin.


Ages: 8-up
ISBN: 9780062673602
Price: $19.99
Published by: HarperCollins Children's Books

More

  • Spin the Dawn
  • Along the Tapajós
  • Geeky F@b Five Volume 1: It’s Not Rocket Science
  • Jasmine Green Rescues: A Piglet Called Truffle
  • The Many Faces of Josephine Baker
  • Gabi, A Girl In Pieces
  • Juniper Kai: Super Spy
  • Double Victory
  • Astro Girl
  • Gabi, A Girl In Pieces
  • Race to the Sun
  • Yara’s Tawari Tree
  • Pippa’s Night Parade
  • Jaya and Rasa: A Love Story
  • Full Disclosure
  • Love from Anna Hibiscus!
  • Sanity & Tallulah: Field Trip
  • A Thousand Fires
  • PET
  • Pájaro Verde
Back to Top