Home > Readers > Reading Lists > CBC Showcase > Be Brave, Persist, Survive (Winter 2017) > Streetcar to Justice: How Elizabeth…
Streetcar to Justice: How Elizabeth Jennings Won the Right to Ride in New York

Streetcar to Justice: How Elizabeth Jennings Won the Right to Ride in New York

by Amy Hill Hearth

One hundred years before Rosa Parks’s brave ride in Montgomery, a young African American woman named Elizabeth Jennings Graham took a stand against segregation when she refused to get off a streetcar in New York City. From bestselling author and New York Times reporter Amy Hill Hearth, this fascinating biography about a forgotten Civil Rights activist illuminates a hidden piece of history and will appeal to fans of Phillip Hoose and Steve Sheinkin.


Ages: 7-12
ISBN: 9780062673602
Price: $19.99
Published by: HarperCollins Children's Books

More

  • Kesar and the Lullaby Birds
  • Ritu Weds Chandni
  • Dancing in Thatha’s Footsteps
  • Zahra’s Blessing
  • Your Life Matters
  • Yay for Big Brothers!
  • Whistling for Angela
  • Where Thuong Keeps Love
  • When I Grow Up…
  • What We’ll Build
  • What is a Family
  • What Animals Want: The Five Freedoms in Action
  • We Are Friends: In the Forest
  • Ways to Say I Love You
  • Waves Of  Grace
  • Walking With Maga
  • Viva’s Voice
  • Valentine’s Guest House
  • Up and Down Mom
  • This Is How I Grow
Back to Top