Home > Readers > Reading Lists > CBC Showcase > Be Brave, Persist, Survive (Winter 2017) > Streetcar to Justice: How Elizabeth…
Streetcar to Justice: How Elizabeth Jennings Won the Right to Ride in New York

Streetcar to Justice: How Elizabeth Jennings Won the Right to Ride in New York

by Amy Hill Hearth

One hundred years before Rosa Parks’s brave ride in Montgomery, a young African American woman named Elizabeth Jennings Graham took a stand against segregation when she refused to get off a streetcar in New York City. From bestselling author and New York Times reporter Amy Hill Hearth, this fascinating biography about a forgotten Civil Rights activist illuminates a hidden piece of history and will appeal to fans of Phillip Hoose and Steve Sheinkin.


Ages: 8-up
ISBN: 9780062673602
Price: $19.99
Published by: HarperCollins Children's Books

More

  • 14 Cows for America
  • 50 Real Heroes for Boys
  • A Plan for the People
  • A Song Below Water
  • A True Princess of Hawai‘i
  • ABC, Rise Up and Be!: An Empowering Alphabet for Changing the World
  • All My Friends are Ghosts
  • All the Way to the Top
  • Amelia to Zora: Twenty-Six Women Who Changed the World
  • Anger Is a Gift
  • Bear
  • Beautiful Shades of Brown: The Art of Laura Wheeler Waring
  • Big Words for Fearless Girls
  • Bindiya in India
  • Blancaflor: The Hero with Secret Powers
  • Bo the Brave
  • Bobbie the Wonder Dog: A True Story
  • Bravo Anjali
  • Brother’s Keeper
  • Carrie’s Flight
Back to Top