Home > Readers > Reading Lists > Hot Off the Press > December 2019 > From the Desk of Zoe…
From the Desk of Zoe Washington

From the Desk of Zoe Washington

by Janae Marks

From debut author Janae Marks comes a captivating mystery full of heart, as one courageous girl questions assumptions, searches for the truth, and does what she believes is right—even in the face of great opposition. A perfect book for fans of Front Desk and All Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook! Zoe Washington isn’t sure what to write. What does a girl say to the father she’s never met, hadn’t heard from until his letter arrived on her twelfth birthday, and who’s been in prison for a terrible crime? A crime he says he never committed. Could Marcus really be innocent? Zoe is determined to uncover the truth. Even if it means hiding his letters and her investigation from the rest of her family. Everyone else thinks Zoe’s worrying about doing a good job at her bakery internship and proving to her parents that she’s worthy of auditioning for Food Network’s Kids Bake Challenge. But with bakery confections on one part of her mind, and Marcus’s conviction weighing heavily on the other, this is one recipe Zoe doesn’t know how to balance. The only thing she knows to be true: Everyone lies.


Ages: 8-Up
ISBN: 9780062875853
Price: $16.99
Published by: Katherine Tegen Books / HarperCollins

More

  • A Great Day for A Hug
  • A Mystery at Lili Villa
  • Archie at Riverdale High Vol. 3
  • Atoms
  • Atoms / Los átomos
  • Breeder
  • Cat & Cat Volume 4: Scaredy Cat
  • Chirri & Chirra, The Rainy Day
  • Chunky
  • Curious About Fish
  • Faking Reality
  • Fee, Fi, Fo, Grow! The Real Magic of the Beans
  • First Day of School
  • Flash Fire (The Extraordinaries Book #2)
  • Geronimo Stilton Reporter Volume 8: Hypno Tick Tock
  • Goldilocks and the Six Simple Machines
  • Grumpy Monkey Freshly Squeezed
  • Huff… Puff… Grind! The 3 Little Pigs Get Smart
  • It Ends in Fire
  • Lala’s Words
Back to Top