Home > Readers > Reading Lists > Hot Off the Press > December 2019 > From the Desk of Zoe…
From the Desk of Zoe Washington

From the Desk of Zoe Washington

by Janae Marks

From debut author Janae Marks comes a captivating mystery full of heart, as one courageous girl questions assumptions, searches for the truth, and does what she believes is right—even in the face of great opposition. A perfect book for fans of Front Desk and All Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook! Zoe Washington isn’t sure what to write. What does a girl say to the father she’s never met, hadn’t heard from until his letter arrived on her twelfth birthday, and who’s been in prison for a terrible crime? A crime he says he never committed. Could Marcus really be innocent? Zoe is determined to uncover the truth. Even if it means hiding his letters and her investigation from the rest of her family. Everyone else thinks Zoe’s worrying about doing a good job at her bakery internship and proving to her parents that she’s worthy of auditioning for Food Network’s Kids Bake Challenge. But with bakery confections on one part of her mind, and Marcus’s conviction weighing heavily on the other, this is one recipe Zoe doesn’t know how to balance. The only thing she knows to be true: Everyone lies.


Ages: 8-Up
ISBN: 9780062875853
Price: $16.99
Published by: Katherine Tegen Books / HarperCollins

More

  • 5 Wild Animals
  • A New Home for Fox
  • A Perfect Day
  • Africa, Amazing Africa: Country by Country
  • Animals (Multilingual Board Book)
  • Archibald Finch and the Lost Witches
  • Archie: 80 Years of Christmas
  • Aristotle & Dante Dive Into the Waters of the World
  • Before I Grew Up
  • Benji’s Doll
  • Bluebird
  • Bok’s Giant Leap: One Moon Rock’s Journey Through Time and Space
  • Ivy Lost and Found (Book Buddies Series)
  • Britannica First Big Book of Why
  • Bugs for Breakfast
  • Build It! Christmas
  • Chi Chi the Rescue Dog: Never Give Up
  • Cold War Correspondent: A Korean War Tale (Nathan Hale’s Hazardous Tales #11)
  • Count to Love! (A Bright Brown Baby Board Book)
  • Curious World of Dandy-lion
Back to Top