Home > Readers > Reading Lists > Hot Off the Press > February 2020 > All Around Bustletown: Spring
All Around Bustletown: Spring

All Around Bustletown: Spring

by Rotraut Susanne Berner

Kids will spend hours poring over the oversized pages of this joyfully illustrated book that looks at a bustling town’s activities in spring.

It’s springtime in this charming, busy town and there is a lot going on! A house gets a top-to-bottom spring cleaning and farm fields are being prepared for planting. People are shopping, commuting to work, constructing buildings, and meeting friends. If you look closer, you’ll recognize the same characters appear on every page, each with their own story. There’s Wilfred the jogger slipping on a banana peel and his friend Erica who comes to help him. Three cheerful nuns shop, chat, and share a snack at the cafe. A stork surveys all the activity from the sky while a mischievous fox scampers through the streets. In the tradition of Richard Scarry and Where’s Waldo, this book encourages kids to return again and again to each spread, following along with the characters and inventing their own stories. They’ll recognize parts of their own world, while also learning about the endless ways we live, work, and play in the spring.


Ages: 2-5
Illustrated by: Rotraut Susanne Berner
ISBN: 9783791374093
Price: $12.95
Published by: Prestel Junior

More

  • 189 Canaries
  • A Queen to the Rescue: the Story of Henrietta Szold, Founder of Hadassah
  • A Rugrats Chanukah: The Classic Illustrated Storybook (Pop Classics #11)
  • A Walk in the Words
  • Ada and the Galaxies
  • Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland in 20 Minutes a Day 
  • All Kinds of Animal Friends
  • All the Feelings Under the Sun: How to Deal with Climate Change
  • Almost Nothing, yet Everything
  • Amara’s Farm
  • Antonia: A Journey to a New Home
  • Archie Celebrates Diwali
  • As Babies Dream
  • At This Very Moment
  • Barefoot Dreams of Petra Luna
  • Barn at Night
  • Bear is a Bear
  • Before We Sleep
  • Bend in the Road
  • Between Two Worlds: The Art & Life of Amrita Sher-Gil
Back to Top