Home > Readers > Reading Lists > Hot Off the Press > February 2020 > All Around Bustletown: Spring
All Around Bustletown: Spring

All Around Bustletown: Spring

by Rotraut Susanne Berner

Kids will spend hours poring over the oversized pages of this joyfully illustrated book that looks at a bustling town’s activities in spring.

It’s springtime in this charming, busy town and there is a lot going on! A house gets a top-to-bottom spring cleaning and farm fields are being prepared for planting. People are shopping, commuting to work, constructing buildings, and meeting friends. If you look closer, you’ll recognize the same characters appear on every page, each with their own story. There’s Wilfred the jogger slipping on a banana peel and his friend Erica who comes to help him. Three cheerful nuns shop, chat, and share a snack at the cafe. A stork surveys all the activity from the sky while a mischievous fox scampers through the streets. In the tradition of Richard Scarry and Where’s Waldo, this book encourages kids to return again and again to each spread, following along with the characters and inventing their own stories. They’ll recognize parts of their own world, while also learning about the endless ways we live, work, and play in the spring.


Ages: 2-5
Illustrated by: Rotraut Susanne Berner
ISBN: 9783791374093
Price: $12.95
Published by: Prestel Junior

More

  • The Campaign
  • Moo-Moo, I Love You!
  • Feathered Serpent and the Five Suns: A Mesoamerican Creation Myth
  • The Witches
  • K-Pop Confidential
  • Red Shoes
  • Band Together
  • You’ll Find Me
  • A Neon Darkness
  • Each of Us a Desert
  • And That’s The Tooth
  • The Massachusetts Chronicles: The History of Massachusetts from Earliest Times to the Present Day (What on Earth State Chronicles)
  • La Jirafa Rafa
  • Dreams for Our Daughters
  • Pine Island Home
  • Rosie the Dragon and Charlie Say Good Night
  • Virtual Unicorn Experience
  • Skunk and Badger
  • Escape from a Video Game: The Secret of Phantom Island
  • This is a Book of Shapes
Back to Top