Home > Blog > Now accepting nominations for the…

Now accepting nominations for the Campoy-Ada Award

American Academy of the Spanish Language [ANLE] has created the Campoy-Ada Award to honor the trajectory of two Latin authors who, throughout their career, have contributed with their work of more than two hundred titles to strengthen the use of Spanish In the United States and to disseminate Latino culture.


Publishers and authors are invited to submit their books for this award. Winners will be selected in multiple categories. View all submission rules here.

You can nominate titles using this online form!

About the authors being honored
F. Isabel Campoy
is the author of numerous children’s books in the areas of poetry, theatre, stories, biographies, and art. As a researcher she has published extensively bringing to the curriculum an awareness of the richness of the Hispanic culture. She is an educator specialized in the area of literacy and home school interaction, topics on which she lecturers nationally. An internationally recognized scholar devoted to the study of language acquisition, a field in which she started publishing in l973 after obtaining her degree in English Philology from Universidad Complutense in Madrid, Spain; and post graduate work in Reading University in England, and UCLA in the United States.

Her many accolades include ALA Notables, the San Francisco Library Award, the Reading the World Award from the University of San Francisco, the NABE Ramón Santiago Award, the International Latino Children’s Book Award, and nine Junior Library Guild selections. She is a member of the North American Academy of Spanish Language.

Alma Flor Ada, Professor Emerita at the University of San Francisco, has devoted her life to advocacy for peace by promoting a pedagogy oriented to personal realization and social jus­tice. A former Radcliffe Scholar at Harvard University and Fulbright Research Scholar she is an internationally re-known speaker.

Alma Flor’s numerous children’s books of poetry, narrative, folklore and non fiction have received prestigious awards; among many: Christopher Medal (The Gold Coin), Pura Bel­pré Medal (Under the Royal Palms), Once Upon a World (Gathering the Sun), Parents’ Choice Honor (Dear Peter Rabbit), NCSS and CBC Notable Book (My Name is María Isabel), International Latino Book Award (Love, Amalia; Dancing Home, and Yes! We Are Latinos) Marta Salotti Gold Medal (Encaje de piedra). In 2012 she received the Virginia Hamilton Award in recognition of her body of work for children. In 2014 the Mexican Government honored her with the prestigious OHTLI Award for her services to the Mexican communities in the United States.

Back to Top