Home > Blog > The Society of Children’s Book…

The Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators Announces the 2016 Jane Yolen Mid-List Author Award Winners

December 15, 2016 — The SCBWI is proud to announce the winners of the 2016 Jane Yolen Mid-List Author Award. Congratulations to Jan Peck, author of The Green Mother Goose (Sterling, 2010) and Giant Peach Yodel (Pelican Publishing, 2012). Jan is an active member of SCBWI and helped build the vibrant North Texas Chapter.

Two Honor winners were also chosen. Congratulations to Deborah Trotter of Moraga, California, and Joan Donaldson of Fennville, Michigan.

This grant gives $3,000 to mid-list authors to honor their contribution and help raise awareness about their current works-in-progress.  The grant was created and is generously funded by critically acclaimed children’s book author and one of the first SCBWI members, Jane Yolen.

Jane Yolen, who both funds and chooses the winners, had this to say. “All of the submissions this year were top rate, and the stories of how these authors—many of them award-winners—who have all had some recent setbacks serves as a warning to all writers. We are at the whim of trends, changes in publishers, consolidation of publishing lists, cutbacks in educational spending and the development of newer ways
of storytelling. These three winners are all really good at what they do. My one wish is that this small award will be a way of re-starting their book lives again. Selfish of me, really, I want to read more from each of them. They each have many more books, stories, poems inside that need to be seen by the reading public.”

To learn more about this award please visit the “Awards and Grants” section on www.scbwi.org.

About Jane Yolen

Jane Yolen, often called “the Hans Christian Andersen of America,” is the author of almost three hundred books, including Owl Moon, The Devil’s Arithmetic and How Do Dinosaurs Say Goodnight? The books range from rhymed picture books and baby board books, through middle grade fiction, poetry collections, nonfiction and up to novels and story collections for young adults and adults. She’s won two Nebulas, a World Fantasy Award, a Caldecott, the Golden Kite Award, three Mythopoeic Awards, two Christopher Medals, a nomination for the National Book Award and the Jewish Book Award, among others. She is also the winner (for body of work) of the Kerlan Award and the Catholic Library’s Regina Medal. Learn more at www.janeyolen.com.


Founded in 1971, the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators is one of the largest existing writers’ and illustrators’ organizations, with over 22,000 members worldwide. It is the only organization specifically for those working in the fields of children’s literature, magazines, film, television and multimedia. The organization was founded by Stephen Mooser (President) and Lin Oliver (Executive Director).

Back to Top