Home > Blog > Nominees Announced For Astrid Lindgren…

Nominees Announced For Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award 2017

Stockholm, Sweden — We in the jury are very much looking forward to learning more about the works and the activities of the candidates, says professor Westin after making the announcement. The nomination list is a gold mine for anyone interested in international children’s and YA literature. I hope that this list will be spread and used in all possible situations concerning reading and storytelling.

All continents are represented among the nominated writers, illustrators, reading promoters and storytellers. Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award (ALMA) rewards works or activities of the highest quality but the laureates must also embrace the humanistic values that Astrid Lindgren treasured. The candidates have been suggested by more than a hundred organisations from all over the world. These nominating bodies, with expert knowledge, can nominate candidates from their own country or region but also from abroad.

– The nominating bodies are our eyes and ears says Boel Westin. The jury is Swedish but the award is international and we are extremely impressed by the enthusiasm and knowledge within the organisations.

The jury members conclude their work with a meeting and a press conference on Tuesday April 4 at 1 pm. at the National Library in Stockholm. The event will be broadcast live to Bologna Book Fair. The candidate list is available at www.alma.se/en.

For further information, please contact director
Helen Sigeland, +46 76 540 10 33, helen.sigeland@alma.se.


Author: Laurie Halse Anderson
Illustrator: István Bányai
Author: Judy Blume
Author and Illustrator: Eric Carle, 
Organisation: Children’s Literature New England (CLNE) & The Examined Life (EXL)
Illustrator: Andrea Dezsö
Organisation: Friends of African Village Libraries (FAVL)
Author and Illustrator: Maira Kalman
Author: Ursula LeGuin
Author: Lois Lowry
Author and Literacy Advocate: Gregory Maguire
Organisation: Neighborhood Bridges
Oral Storyteller: Anne Pellowski
Organisation: Room to Read
Author: Naomi Shihab Nye
Author: Mildred Taylor

Back to Top