Home > Blog > The Inaugural Walter Awards

The Inaugural Walter Awards

The winners of this years’ award were Jason Reynolds and Brendan Kiely, authors of All American Boys (Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books). Honorees included Kekla Magoon, Ilyasah Shabazz, and Margarita Engle.

What we really are looking for is a diversity of storytelling styles and a depth of storytelling…It’s about telling stories from a number of perspectives. It’s about empathy, it’s about understanding other people’s way of thinking. (Forbes)

Back to Top