Home > Blog > Have you ever pumped gas…

Have you ever pumped gas in a tiara?

Robin Price Glasser: Children's Book Week Champion 
Robin Preiss Glasser: Children’s Book Week Champion
Join Robin Preiss Glasser — 2013 Children’s Choice Book Awards Illustrator of the Year Award-Winner for Fancy Nancy and the Mermaid Ballet — at the Academy Awards of children’s literature, the Children’s Book Week Gala!  

The Gala is open to the public, and adult and child tickets are available.  

To purchase tickets or sponsor the event, e-mail us. All proceeds benefit Every Child a Reader, a 501(c)3 literacy organization committed to instilling a lifelong love of reading in children.    


When:     Wednesday, May 14, 2014 

   6pm Dinner Reception, 7-8pm Awards Ceremony


Where:     Capitale
                   130 Bowery (at Bowery and Grand)

                   New York, NY 10013  


Age range: 8 and up     


Tickets: Adult $300; Child (18 and under) $50 


Join us for the Academy Awards of children’s literature — a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to meet your favorite children’s book authors and illustrators in person! The Children’s Choice Book Awards is the only national book awards program where the winning titles are selected by young readers of all ages. 2014 winners will be announced live at the 7th Annual Children’s Book Week Gala.  


Kate DiCamillo 

This year’s host is Kate DiCamillo, National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature and this year’s Newbery Medal winner for Flora and Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures!


The 2014 Impact Award — which pays tribute to an individual whose actions or programs have creatively and significantly moved forward our collective mission of instilling a lifelong love of reading in children — will be given to former Reading Rainbow Host and creator of the Reading Rainbow app, LeVar Burton.    


LeVar Burton

Presenters include: Holly Black, author of The Spiderwick Chronicles and The Coldest Girl in

Coldtown; Nick Bruel,creator of the Bad Kitty series; Brian Floca, this year’s Caldecott medal winner for Locomotive; Robin Preiss Glasser, bestselling Fancy Nancy illustrator and 2013 Children’s Choice Illustrator of the Year Award-winner for Fancy Nancy and the Mermaid Ballet; Jarrett J. Krosoczka, creator of the Lunch Lady graphic-novel series; and Lauren Myracle, author of the best-selling Internet Girls series.



Check out photos from last year’s gala▸▸



The Children’s Book Council and Every Child A Reader,
54 W. 39th St., Floor 14, NYC, 10018

Back to Top