Home > Blog > The Society of Children’s Book…

The Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators Announces the Winners of the Annual Crystal Kite Member Choice Awards

The SCBWI is excited to announce the winners of the 2013 Crystal Kite Member Choice Awards for our fifteen regional divisions:


●      Neil Malherbe – The Magyar Conspiracy (Tafelberg Publishers)


●      Meg McKinlay – Ten Tiny Things (Illustrated by Kyle Hughes-Odgers) (Fremantle Press)


●      Katherine Applegate – The One and Only Ivan (HarperCollins Children’s Books)

Southeast (Florida/Georgia/South Carolina/North Carolina/Alabama/Mississippi)

●      Augusta Scattergood – Glory Be  (Scholastic)

Mid-South (Kansas/Louisiana/Arkansas/Tennessee/Kentucky/Missouri)

●      Sharon Cameron – The Dark Unwinding (Scholastic)

Middle East/India/Asia

●      Benjamin Martin – Samurai Awakening  (Tuttle Publishing)

Midwest (Minnesota/Iowa/Nebraska/Wisconsin/Illinois/Michigan/Indiana/Ohio)

●      Aaron Reynolds – Creepy Carrots (Illustrated by Peter Brown) (Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers)

Southwest (Nevada/Arizona/Utah/Colorado/Wyoming/New Mexico)

●      Jean Reagan – How to Baby Sit A Grandpa (Alfred A. Knopf (Random House Children’s Books)

New England (Maine, Vermont, New Hampshire. Connecticut, Massachusetts, Rhode Island)

●      Jo Knowles – See You At Harry’s (Candlewick Press)

New York

●      Kate Messner – Capture the Flag (Scholastic)

Atlantic (Pennsylvania/Delaware/New Jersey/Wash DC/Virginia/West Virginia/Maryland)

●      Ame Dyckman – BOY + BOT   (Illustrated by Dan Yaccarino) (Alfred A. Knopf (Random House Children’s Books)


●      Lynne Kelly – Chained (Farrar, Straus & Giroux, Inc.)

The Americas (Canada/Mexico/Central & South America)

●      Jennifer Lanthier – The Stamp Collector  (Fitzhenry and Whiteside)


●      Dave Cousins – Fifteen Days without a Head  (Oxford University Press)

West (Washington/Oregon/Alaska/Idaho/Montana/North Dakota/South Dakota)

●      Kim Baker – Pickle   (Illustrated by Tim Probert) (Roaring Brook Press (Macmillan Publishers)

About the Crystal Kite Awards

The Crystal Kite Awards are given by the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators to recognize great books from the seventy SCBWI regions around the world.  Along with the SCBWI Golden Kite Awards, the Crystal Kite Awards are chosen by other children’s book writers and illustrators, making them the only peer-given awards in publishing for young readers.


Founded in 1971, the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators is one of the largest existing writers’ and illustrators’ organizations, with over 22,000 members worldwide. It is the only organization specifically for those working in the fields of children’s literature, magazines, film, television, and multimedia. The organization was founded by Stephen Mooser (President) and Lin Oliver (Executive Director), both of whom are well-published children’s book authors and leaders in the world of children’s literature.  For more information about the Crystal Kite Award, please visitwww.scbwi.org, and click “Awards & Grants.”


Back to Top