Home > Readers > Reading Lists > CBC Showcase > Book Power (Fall 2017) > What’s the Big Deal About…
What’s the Big Deal About Freedom?

What’s the Big Deal About Freedom?

by Ruby Shamir

From the Constitution to civil rights, from women’s rights to the four freedoms, this kid-friendly picture book filled with fun facts and historical trivia shows how America got the nickname “land of the free.”

It’s a “free country”! Why? Because in America we’re free speak our minds, choose our leaders and set the rules. Since way back when Thomas Jefferson wrote the Declaration of Independence, Americans have stood up for freedom again and again – but it wasn’t always easy!

Did you know that Henry “Box” Brown escaped slavery by shipping himself north in a box? Or that Susan B. Anthony was arrested when she tried to vote? Did you know that even young kids protested for the right to go to school?

This entertaining, fact-filled book celebrates how, with every generation, more and more Americans won the right to be free.  Find out how they did it and why standing up for the “land of the free” is such a big deal!

Perfect for fans of The One and Only Declaration of Independence, John, Paul, George & Ben, and Shh! We’re Writing the Constitution – and after this fraught election year, is a great way to talk about America, its values, and the rights we all enjoy.


Ages: 4-6
Illustrated by: Matt Faulkner
ISBN: 9780399547287
Price: $17.99
Published by: Penguin Young Readers Group

More

  • What If You Had an Animal Home!?
  • There’s No Such Thing as… Mermaids
  • Such a Library!
  • Millie Fleur’s Poison Garden
  • Makers
  • Lovely Day
  • Lily Blue Riding Hood
  • The Legend of Tiger and Tail-Flower
  • I Am Curious: An Acorn Book (Princess Truly #7)
  • Frankenstein’s Matzah
  • Counting on Naamah
  • Asteroid Goldberg—Passover in Outer Space
  • Aiko and the Planet of the Dogs
  • Your House Is Not Just a House
  • You’re a Star, Lolo!
  • You Wonder All the Time
  • You Made Fun of My Sandwich
  • You Can’t Be a Pterodactyl!
  • You Can Throw a Party!
  • Wonder Walkers
Back to Top