Home > Readers > Reading Lists > CBC Showcase > Book Power (Fall 2017) > What’s the Big Deal About…
What’s the Big Deal About First Ladies?

What’s the Big Deal About First Ladies?

by Ruby Shamir

First Ladies are more than just wives of U.S. presidents! This fun, kid-friendly book of trivia and history shows that First Ladies help influence America in ways both large and small.

Did you know that Mary Todd Lincoln hated slavery and helped to end it in America?  Or that Edith Wilson helped decode secret messages during World War I? How about that Sarah Polk didn’t let anyone dance in the White House while she was first lady?

It’s true! In addition to being hostesses, advocates, ambassadors, activists, patriots, and role-models, each first lady put her own stamp on the White House—and on our country. In this fun-filled, fact-filled book, you can find out just what made each first lady unique and why they were so important. As it turns out, first ladies are a pretty big deal after all!

This book is perfect for fans of So You Want to be President? and Rad American Women from A-Z: Rebels, Trailbalzers, and Visionaries who Shaped Our History…And Our Future, and is a great entry point to discussing elections, inaugurations, and all aspects of the White House with children.


Ages: 4-8
Illustrated by: Matt Faulkner
ISBN: 9780399547249
Price: $17.99
Published by: Penguin Young Readers Group

More

  • Fonchito and the Moon
  • Manjhi Moves a Mountain
  • Boardwalk Babies
  • Zachary Ying and the Dragon Emperor
  • Word Travelers and the Taj Mahal Mystery
  • Venators: Magic Unleashed
  • Unfamiliar
  • Unedited
  • Time Villains
  • This Is Why We Lie
  • These Fleeting Shadows
  • The Wolf Suit
  • The Witch’s Throne
  • The Witch King
  • The Wells Bequest
  • The Very Genius Notebooks: The Chronicles of Deltovia
  • The Toot Fairy
  • The Sacrifice
  • The Queen of Junk Island
  • The Poe Estate
Back to Top