Home > Readers > Reading Lists > CBC Showcase > Book Power (Fall 2017) > What’s the Big Deal About…
What’s the Big Deal About First Ladies?

What’s the Big Deal About First Ladies?

by Ruby Shamir

First Ladies are more than just wives of U.S. presidents! This fun, kid-friendly book of trivia and history shows that First Ladies help influence America in ways both large and small.

Did you know that Mary Todd Lincoln hated slavery and helped to end it in America?  Or that Edith Wilson helped decode secret messages during World War I? How about that Sarah Polk didn’t let anyone dance in the White House while she was first lady?

It’s true! In addition to being hostesses, advocates, ambassadors, activists, patriots, and role-models, each first lady put her own stamp on the White House—and on our country. In this fun-filled, fact-filled book, you can find out just what made each first lady unique and why they were so important. As it turns out, first ladies are a pretty big deal after all!

This book is perfect for fans of So You Want to be President? and Rad American Women from A-Z: Rebels, Trailbalzers, and Visionaries who Shaped Our History…And Our Future, and is a great entry point to discussing elections, inaugurations, and all aspects of the White House with children.


Ages: 4-8
Illustrated by: Matt Faulkner
ISBN: 9780399547249
Price: $17.99
Published by: Penguin Young Readers Group

More

  • 14 Cows for America
  • 50 Real Heroes for Boys
  • A Plan for the People
  • A Song Below Water
  • A True Princess of Hawai‘i
  • ABC, Rise Up and Be!: An Empowering Alphabet for Changing the World
  • All My Friends are Ghosts
  • All the Way to the Top
  • Amelia to Zora: Twenty-Six Women Who Changed the World
  • Anger Is a Gift
  • Bear
  • Beautiful Shades of Brown: The Art of Laura Wheeler Waring
  • Big Words for Fearless Girls
  • Bindiya in India
  • Blancaflor: The Hero with Secret Powers
  • Bo the Brave
  • Bobbie the Wonder Dog: A True Story
  • Bravo Anjali
  • Brother’s Keeper
  • Carrie’s Flight
Back to Top