Home > Readers > Reading Lists > Hot Off the Press > April 2020 > The Lightness of Hands
The Lightness of Hands

The Lightness of Hands

by Jeff Garvin

A quirky and heartfelt coming-of-age story about a teen girl with bipolar II who signs her failed magician father up to perform his legendary but failed illusion on live TV in order to make enough money to pay for the medications they need—from the author of Symptoms of Being Human. Perfect for fans of Adi Alsaid, David Arnold, and Arvin Ahmadi. Sixteen-year-old Ellie Dante is desperate for something in her life to finally go right. Her father was a famous stage magician until he attempted an epic illusion on live TV—and failed. Now Ellie lives with her dad in a beat-up RV, attending high school online and performing with him at birthday parties and bars across the Midwest to make ends meet. But when the gigs dry up, their insurance lapses, leaving Dad’s heart condition unchecked and forcing Ellie to battle her bipolar II disorder without medication. Then Ellie receives a call from a famous magic duo, who offer fifteen thousand dollars and a shot at redemption: they want her father to perform the illusion that wrecked his career—on their live TV special, which shoots in Los Angeles in ten days. Ellie knows her dad will refuse—but she takes the deal anyway, then lies to persuade him to head west. With the help of her online-only best friend and an unusual guy she teams up with along the way, Ellie makes a plan to stage his comeback. But when her lie is exposed, she’ll have to confront her illness and her choices head-on to save her father—and herself.


Ages: Teen
ISBN: 9780062382894
Price (library): $18.99
Published by: Balzer + Bray / HarperCollins

More

  • Woe—A Housecat’s Story of Despair
  • Wicked Marigold
  • White Guy Dies First: 13 Scary Stories of Fear and Power, The
  • A Whisper of Curses
  • Whimsical Wonders—Through the Seasons with Nut and Shell
  • Vampirita y la turba enfurecida (Book 1)
  • Vampirita and the Angry Mob (Book 1)
  • Trim Sails the Storm
  • Time and Time Again
  • The Sun Never Hurries
  • Such Charming Liars
  • Stan Lee
  • Spider-Man; Cosmic Chaos! (#3)
  • Spacemania
  • Sonia and the Super-Duper Disaster
  • Shelly Hen Lays Eggs
  • Seeker of Truth: Kailash Satyarthi’s Fight to End Child Labor
  • The Secret Life of the Forest
  • Sea Wolves: Keepers of the Rainforest
  • Scorch, Hedgehog of Doom
Back to Top