Home > Readers > Reading Lists > Hot Off the Press > April 2020 > The Lightness of Hands
The Lightness of Hands

The Lightness of Hands

by Jeff Garvin

A quirky and heartfelt coming-of-age story about a teen girl with bipolar II who signs her failed magician father up to perform his legendary but failed illusion on live TV in order to make enough money to pay for the medications they need—from the author of Symptoms of Being Human. Perfect for fans of Adi Alsaid, David Arnold, and Arvin Ahmadi. Sixteen-year-old Ellie Dante is desperate for something in her life to finally go right. Her father was a famous stage magician until he attempted an epic illusion on live TV—and failed. Now Ellie lives with her dad in a beat-up RV, attending high school online and performing with him at birthday parties and bars across the Midwest to make ends meet. But when the gigs dry up, their insurance lapses, leaving Dad’s heart condition unchecked and forcing Ellie to battle her bipolar II disorder without medication. Then Ellie receives a call from a famous magic duo, who offer fifteen thousand dollars and a shot at redemption: they want her father to perform the illusion that wrecked his career—on their live TV special, which shoots in Los Angeles in ten days. Ellie knows her dad will refuse—but she takes the deal anyway, then lies to persuade him to head west. With the help of her online-only best friend and an unusual guy she teams up with along the way, Ellie makes a plan to stage his comeback. But when her lie is exposed, she’ll have to confront her illness and her choices head-on to save her father—and herself.


Ages: 14-up
ISBN: 9780062382894
Price (library): $18.99
Published by: Balzer + Bray / HarperCollins

More

  • Rea and the Blood of the Nectar
  • A Chorus Rises
  • A.I.: How Patterns Helped Artificial Intelligence Defeat World Champion Lee Sedol
  • ABC for Me: ABC Let’s Celebrate You & Me
  • Ace of Spades
  • All Our Hidden Gifts
  • Animal Rescue Friends
  • Areli is a Dreamer: A True Story by Areli Morales, a DACA Recipient
  • ArtyFacts
  • Athena: Goddess of Wisdom and War (Tales of Great Goddesses #1)
  • Baby Al
  • Berta’s Boxes
  • Bookish and the Beast
  • A Brief History of Underpants
  • Catching Air: Taking the Leap with Gliding Animals
  • Comparrotives (A Grammar Zoo Book)
  • Cooper’s Story
  • Dad, The Man, The Myth, The Legend
  • Dancing in Thatha’s Footsteps
  • Do Animals Fall in Love?
Back to Top