Home > Readers > Reading Lists > CBC Showcase > Champions of Change (Spring 2020) > Brave. Black. First.: 50+ African…
Brave. Black. First.: 50+ African American Woman Who Changed the World

Brave. Black. First.: 50+ African American Woman Who Changed the World

by Cheryl Willis Hudson

Published in collaboration with the Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture, discover over fifty remarkable African American women whose unique skills and contributions paved the way for the next generation of young people. Perfect for fans of Rad Women Worldwide, Women in Science, and Girls Think of Everything.


Ages: 8-12
Illustrated by: Erin K. Robinson
ISBN: 9780525645818
Price: $18.99
Published by: Crown Books for Young Readers

More

  • Being Jack
  • The Cherry Pie Princess
  • Polly and Buster The Wayward Witch and the Feelings Monster
  • The Extraordinary Life of Malala Yousafzai
  • The Extraordinary Life of Rosa Parks
  • Making Their Voices Heard: The Inspiring Friendship of Ella Fitzgerald and Marilyn Monroe
  • Dreamers
  • Ellen DeGeneres (People of Pride Series)
  • Give Us the Vote!: Over Two Hundred Years of Fighting for the Ballot
  • I Voted: Making a Choice Makes a Difference
  • A New Green Day
  • Hey, Water!
  • Harvey Milk (People of Pride Series)
  • A Place to Land: Martin Luther King Jr. and the Speech That Inspired a Nation
  • Parrots, Pugs, and Pixie Dust: A Book About Fashion Designer Judith Leiber
  • Planting Stories: The Life of Librarian and Storyteller Pura Belpre
  • The Compton Cowboys: Young Readers’ Edition
  • The Secret Garden of George Washington Carver
  • Rice from Heaven: The Secret Mission to Feed North Koreans
  • IT BEGAN WITH A PAGE: HOW GYO FUJIKAWA DREW THE WAY
Back to Top