Home > Blog > The 2018 ABC/CBC Silent Art…

The 2018 ABC/CBC Silent Art Auction on May 30 to Honor Ashley Bryan


New York, NY – February 15, 2018 – The beloved children’s book illustrator, Ashley Bryan, will be the honoree for this year’s Silent Art Auction on May 30th, as announced today by the American Booksellers Association’s ABC Children’s Group (ABC) and the Children’s Book Council (CBC).

Ashley Bryan said: “It is a true honor to be chosen by ABC and CBC for this recognition. The work they do, in so many ways, with the charities and programs that they support, that ultimately bring books to children, is wonderful. I’m glad to do what I can to help.”

Preceding the Silent Art Auction at BookExpo will be the 2018 Children’s & Teen Choice Book Awards ceremony. Co-hosts Selina Alko and Sean Qualls will announce this year’s winning books.

The joint awards and auction program will take place on May 30, 2018, from 5:15 p.m. to 7:30 p.m. in the Javits South Concourse. The Silent Art Auction will benefit two charities: American Booksellers for Free Expression (ABFE) and Every Child a Reader.

The announcement asking for artwork donation will go out industry-wide from CBC today, and Susannah Richards, professor and children’s literature advocate, has agreed to organize this enormous undertaking again this year. Full details are available here.

In a joint statement, Joy Dallanegra-Sanger, Senior Program Director of ABA and Shaina Birkhead, Programming and Strategic Partnerships Director of CBC and Every Child a Reader, stated: “Now more than ever, events supporting free speech, great art, and children’s literacy are vital. We are thrilled that Ashley Bryan will be this year’s honoree!”

About Ashley Bryan
Ashley Bryan grew up to the sound of his mother singing from morning to night, and he has shared the joy of song with children ever since. A beloved illustrator, he was recently named a Newbery Honoree for his picture book, Freedom Over Me. He has also been the recipient of the Coretta Scott King-Virginia Hamilton Lifetime Achievement Award; the Laura Ingalls Wilder Award; has been a May Hill Arbuthnot lecturer; a Coretta Scott King Award winner; and the recipient of countless other awards and recognitions. His books include Freedom Over Me; Sail Away; Beautiful Blackbird; Beat the Story-Drum, Pum Pum; Let It Shine; Ashley Bryan’s Book of Puppets; and What a Wonderful World. He lives in Islesford, one of the Cranberry Isles off the coast of Maine.

About the ABC Children’s Group
The ABC Children’s Group (ABC), a program of the American Booksellers Association (ABA), is dedicated to growing and expanding the reach of children’s books. ABC serves independent bookstores, authors, publishers, and illustrators, and develops unique education, events, and communications to further that purpose. ABA is a not-for-profit trade association devoted to meeting the needs of its core members-independently owned bookstores with storefront locations. It exists to protect and promote the interests of independent retail book businesses, as well as – through American Booksellers for Free Expression (ABFE) – to protect the First Amendment rights of every American. 

About the Children’s Book Council (CBC)
The Children’s Book Council is the nonprofit trade association for children’s book publishers in North America. The CBC serves both the general public and children’s book artists and illustrators by creating resources for parents and educators; advocating for diversity in employment and publication; coordinating children’s book prizes with major national organizations; providing educational programming for its members; and supporting community-based literacy campaigns.

About Every Child a Reader 
Every Child a Reader is a 501(c)(3) literacy charity dedicated to inspiring a lifelong love of reading in children and teens across America. Every Child a Reader’s three major national programs are: Children’s Book Week, celebrating 99 years this April 30-May 6, 2018; the Children’s & Teen Choice Book Awards; and the National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature program, in partnership with the Library of Congress. The 2018-2019 National Ambassador is Jacqueline Woodson.

About the Children’s & Teen Choice Book Awards
Launched in 2008, the Children’s & Teen Choice Book Awards is the only national book awards where voting is open only to kids and teens. Individual and classroom voting this year will be open online from March 1 to May 6.

ABA Contact:
Joy Dallanegra-Sanger, Senior Program Officer

CBC/Every Child a Reader Contact:
Shifa Kapadwala, Publicity Manager


Back to Top