Home > Blog > 2017 Sendak Fellows Revealed

2017 Sendak Fellows Revealed

The 2017 fellows are:

  • Terry and Eric Fan (The Night Gardener)
  • Rashin Kheiriyeh (There Was an Old Lady Who Swallowed a Fly)
  • Eliza Wheeler (Miss Maple’s Seeds)

The fellowship includes a four-week retreat at Maurice Sendak’s former residence in upstate New York, and a prize of $5,000.

Sendak inaugurated the fellowship in 2010, with the goal of fostering illustration talent that will, he said, ‘create work that is not vapid, stupid, or sexy, but original. Work that excites and incites.’ (Publishers Weekly)

Back to Top