Home > Blog > Submit to the 2016 Américas…

Submit to the 2016 Américas Award!

The award was founded by CLASP in 1993 in an effort to promote U.S. authors, illustrators, and publishers who create diverse children’s literature, and to provide teachers with recommendations for classroom use. The consortium offers up to two annual book awards, in addition to a list of recommended titles.

Titles are judged according to the following criteria:

  • Literary quality
  • Cultural context
  • Integration of text, illustration, and design
  • Suitability for the classroom

The deadline to nominate 2015 titles is January 4, 2016. Click here to learn more about submission requirements and previous winners. The winning titles will be announced during Hispanic Heritage Month 2016.

Back to Top