Home > Blog > Call for Firecracker Awards Submissions

Call for Firecracker Awards Submissions

The Council of Literary Magazines and Presses (CLMP) and the American Booksellers Association have again teamed up for the awards, which “seek to celebrate and promote great literary works from independent literary publishers and self-published authors.”

The Submission deadline for all categories is 10/31/14. Winners will be announced in May 2015 at an event to coincide with Book Expo America. Winning titles will be featured in a national marketing campaign that includes digital marketing and placement in independent bookstores. Winners will also benefit from the Firecracker Award Winning Book logo.

Submission Guidelines

  • All titles (self-published and independently published) must have a 2014 publication date.
  • All independent publishers (typically independently owned or nonprofit organizations that are mission-driven, rather than market-driven) and self-published authors of literary writing are eligible for the Firecracker Award, regardless of CLMP-membership status.
  • There is no limit on the number of manuscripts that can be submitted, but please note that each must be submitted individually
  • Manuscripts must be uploaded as a PDF, .doc, or .docx

Judges for 2014 YA Titles

Jordan Nielsen (YA/Children’s Buyer at powerHouse Arena), Sarah LaPolla (agent), and TBA 

The book awards long-list will be announced in the winter of 2014; winners will be notified in May, 2015. 

Visit the Firecrackers website to submit.

Back to Top