Home > Blog > SCBWI Reveals the 2014 Golden…

SCBWI Reveals the 2014 Golden Kite Award & Sid Fleischman Humor Award Winners

“The Golden Kite Awards are to recognize excellence in children’s literature. Instituted in 1973, the Golden Kite Awards are the only children’s literary award judged by a jury of peers. More than 1,000 books are entered each year. Eligible books must be written or illustrated by SCBWI members, and submitted either by publishers or individuals. The Sid Fleischman Award goes to an author whose work “exemplifies excellence in the genre of humor, a category so often overlooked by other award committees in children’s literature.”

Read more at the SCBWI blog ▸▸

Picture Book Text Winner: Pat Zietlow Miller for Sophie’s Squash

Picture Book Text Honor: Amy Ludwig VanDerwater for Forest Has a Song

Picture Book Illustration Winner: Peter Brown for Mr. Tiger Goes Wild

Picture Book Illustration Honor: Yuyi Morales for Niño Wrestles the World

Fiction Winner: Tim Federle for Better Nate Than Ever

Fiction Honor: Elizabeth Wein for Rose Under Fire

Nonfiction Winner: David Meissner for Call of the Klondike: A True Gold Rush Adventure

Nonfiction Honor: Pamela Turner for The Dolphins of Shark Bay

The Sid Fleischman Humor Award Winner: Bill Konigsberg for Openly Straight

Back to Top