Home > Blog > SCBWI Announces the Winners of…

SCBWI Announces the Winners of the Annual SCBWI Work-in-Progress Grants


The Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators in conjunction with a generous grant from Amazon.com, congratulates the winners of the 2013 Work-In-Progress Grants in the following categories:

Contemporary Category Mary Ann Scott – The Unfolding of Ripley Kent

Runner-up Margo Rabb – Kissing in America

General Category Jocelyn Leigh Rish – The Drama Queen Who Cried Wolf

Runner-up Rebecca Louie – Tru U

Multicultural Category Suzanne Linn Kamata – Indigo Girl

Runner-up Natasha Tarpley – Alchemist Bread

Nonfiction Category Patrice Sherman – The Vitamin Sleuths: A Tale of Mystery, Medicine and Nutrition

Runner-up Suzanne Slade – The Music in George’s Head

Anna Cross Giblin Award Caren Stelson – Sachiko

Barbara Karlin Award Elizabeth Coburn – Captain Bilgewater and the Buccaneer Ballet

Runner-up Karol Ruth Silverstein – Other

Unpublished Author Award David Arnold – Mosquitoland

“Amazon.com shares SCBWI’s commitment to supporting the creation of great new works,” said Jon Fine, director of Author & Publisher Relations for Amazon.com. “We are proud to be able to support the SCBWI’s work as it nurtures new voices in literature for children and young adults.”

About the Work-In-Progress Grant

The SCBWI Work-In-Progress Grants are designed to assist children’s book writers and illustrators in the completion of a specific project and are awarded in seven categories. To learn more about the Grant, visit www.scwbi.com under the “Awards and Grants” section.


Founded in 1971 by Stephen Mooser (President) & Lin Oliver (Executive Director), the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators is one of the largest writers’ and illustrators’ organizations, with over 22,000 members worldwide. It is the only organization specifically for those working in the fields of children’s literature, magazines, film, television, and multimedia.

Kayla Heinen
Public Relations Manager

Back to Top