Home > Readers > Reading Lists > Hot Off the Press > June 2018 > The Cardboard Kingdom
The Cardboard Kingdom

The Cardboard Kingdom

by Chad Sell

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier, Awkward, and All’s Faire in Middle School, this graphic novel follows a neighborhood of kids who transform ordinary cardboard into fantastical homemade costumes as they explore conflicts with friends, family, and their own identity.

“A breath of fresh air, this tender and dynamic collection is a must-have.” —Kirkus, Starred

Welcome to a neighborhood of kids who transform ordinary boxes into colorful costumes, and their ordinary block into cardboard kingdom. This is the summer when sixteen kids encounter knights and rogues, robots and monsters—and their own inner demons—on one last quest before school starts again.

In the Cardboard Kingdom, you can be anything you want to be—imagine that!

The Cardboard Kingdom was created, organized, and drawn by Chad Sell with writing from ten other authors: Jay Fuller, David DeMeo, Katie Schenkel, Kris Moore, Molly Muldoon, Vid Alliger, Manuel Betancourt, Michael Cole, Cloud Jacobs, and Barbara Perez Marquez. The Cardboard Kingdom affirms the power of imagination and play during the most important years of adolescent identity-searching and emotional growth.

“There’s room for everyone inside The Cardboard Kingdom, where friendship and imagination reign supreme.” —Ingrid Law, New York Times bestselling author of Savvy

“A timely and colorful graphic novel debut that, like its many offbeat but on-point characters, marches to the beat of its own cardboard drum.” —Tim Federle, award-winning author of Better Nate Than Ever


Ages: 8-Up
ISBN: 9781524719371
Price: $20.99
Published by: Random House Children's Books

More

  • King Ben and Sir Rhino
  • Neanderthal Opens the Door to the Universe
  • We Don’t Eat Our Classmates
  • Drawn Together
  • Tell Me No Lies
  • Hero Vs. Villain
  • I Feel Teal
  • Thomasina: The Cat Who Thought She Was a God
  • The Jungle
  • Thirteen
  • A Home For Leo
  • LEGO Animal Atlas
  • Ping Vs Pong
  • The Forest
  • The Opposite of Here
  • It’s Show and Tell, Dexter!
  • Voces Sin Fronteras
  • Whisper of the Tide
  • My Name is Victoria
  • Farmer McFlube’s Flub
Back to Top