Home > Readers > Reading Lists > Be Brave, Persist, Survive (Winter 2017) > CBC Showcase > Streetcar to Justice: How Elizabeth…
Streetcar to Justice: How Elizabeth Jennings Won the Right to Ride in New York

Streetcar to Justice: How Elizabeth Jennings Won the Right to Ride in New York

by Amy Hill Hearth

One hundred years before Rosa Parks’s brave ride in Montgomery, a young African American woman named Elizabeth Jennings Graham took a stand against segregation when she refused to get off a streetcar in New York City. From bestselling author and New York Times reporter Amy Hill Hearth, this fascinating biography about a forgotten Civil Rights activist illuminates a hidden piece of history and will appeal to fans of Phillip Hoose and Steve Sheinkin.


Ages: 8-up
ISBN: 9780062673602
Price: $19.99
Published by: HarperCollins Children's Books

More

  • Recess at 20 Below, Rev. Ed.
  • Thank You, Omu!
  • Helping Hands: Grow It
  • The Ice Maiden’s Tale
  • Good Dog
  • The Tea Dragon Society
  • Clive is a Librarian
  • Protected
  • The Governor’s Dog is Missing (Slate Stephens Mysteries #1)
  • Together at Midnight
  • Pedro’s Pan
  • Ghost Friends Forever Vol. 1
  • My Tata’s Remedies/ Los remedios de mi tata
  • The Truth About Us
  • Saving Winslow
  • Chasing at the Surface
  • Ode to an Onion: Pablo Neruda & His Muse
  • Princess Princess Ever After
  • Dara Palmer’s Major Drama
  • Making a Friend
Back to Top