Home > Readers > Reading Lists > Be Brave, Persist, Survive (Winter 2017) > CBC Showcase > Streetcar to Justice: How Elizabeth…
Streetcar to Justice: How Elizabeth Jennings Won the Right to Ride in New York

Streetcar to Justice: How Elizabeth Jennings Won the Right to Ride in New York

by Amy Hill Hearth

One hundred years before Rosa Parks’s brave ride in Montgomery, a young African American woman named Elizabeth Jennings Graham took a stand against segregation when she refused to get off a streetcar in New York City. From bestselling author and New York Times reporter Amy Hill Hearth, this fascinating biography about a forgotten Civil Rights activist illuminates a hidden piece of history and will appeal to fans of Phillip Hoose and Steve Sheinkin.


Ages: 8-up
ISBN: 9780062673602
Price: $19.99
Published by: HarperCollins Children's Books

More

  • My Mixed Emotions
  • A Feel Better Book for Little Worriers
  • Relaxations
  • Ping vs Pong
  • The Sloth Who Slowed Us Down
  • The Golden Rule
  • Bee Still
  • I Am Peace
  • All My Stripes
  • I Am Yoga
  • Our School Garden
  • I Am Human
  • Feeding The Young Athlete
  • A Moose Boosh: A Few Choice Words About Food
  • I’ll Root for You
  • A True Princess of Hawai‘i
  • Sylvia’s Spinach
  • Cash Kat
  • Get On Your Bike
  • Zora’s Zucchini
Back to Top