Home > Readers > Reading Lists > Hot Off the Press > March 2018 > A Possibility of Whales
A Possibility of Whales

A Possibility of Whales

by Karen Rivers

The story of a girl who—thanks to her friends, her quirky single dad, and an unexpected encounter with a whale—learns the true meaning of family.

Twelve-year-old Natalia Rose Baleine Gallagher loves possibilities: the possibility that she’ll see whales on the beach near her new home, the possibility that the boy she just met will be her new best friend, the possibility that the paparazzi hounding her famous actor father won’t force them to move again. Most of all, Nat dreams of the possibility that her faraway mother misses her, loves her, and is just waiting for Nat to find her.

But how can Nat find her mother if she doesn’t even know who she is? She abandoned Nat as a baby, and Nat’s dad refuses to talk about it. Nat knows she shouldn’t need a mom, but she still feels like something is missing, and her questions lead her on a journey of self-discovery that will change her life forever.

In her unique, poignant narrative voice, Karen Rivers tells a heartfelt story about family, friendship, and growing up perfect for readers of Katherine Applegate and Rebecca Stead.


Ages: 8-Up
ISBN: 9781616207236
Price: $16.95
Published by: Algonquin Books for Young Readers

More

  • Archival Quality
  • Maker Lab: Outdoors
  • Freefall Summer
  • Tulsa Burning
  • Dog Days of History: The Incredible Story of Our Best Friends
  • Lucky Enough
  • Breaking News: Alien Alert
  • 806: A Novel
  • Leaf Litter Critters
  • The Price Guide to the Occult
  • A Round of Robins
  • The Boo-Boos that Changed the World
  • The Great Chicken Escape
  • Baxter and Danny Stand Up to Bullying
  • King & Kayla and the Case of the Lost Tooth
  • Honey
  • Siege: How General Washington Kicked the British Out of Boston and Launched a Revolution
  • Big Brave Bold Sergio
  • The Making of America: Andrew Jackson
  • Just Fly Away
Back to Top